News Category Subscribe to RSS Feed

Successful Geriatric Medicine Presence at the AGS

Published: Jun 5th, 2017

Congratulations to the Geriatric Medicine team for great results in representing our Department and the Geriatric Medicine Division at the American Geriatrics Society in San Antonio, TX!

Dr. Hincapie Echeverri: Inducted in the UF Chapman Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society

Published: Jun 2nd, 2017

Dr. Jacobo Hincapie Echeverri was selected by students as being one of the clinicians with most humanism as evidenced in the quality of care he provides to his patients. Dr […]

The Inaugural Graduating Class of the Online Master’s in Gerontology Program

Published: Apr 25th, 2017

We are proud to acknowledge the inaugural graduating class of the very first completely Online Masters Program at the UF College of Medicine! Congratulations to the first three graduates: Tyler […]

Sudeshna Chatterjee: Recipient of Leighton Cluff and first-place Robert A. Levitt Awards

Sudeshna Chatterjee: Recipient of Leighton Cluff and first-place Robert A. Levitt Awards

Published: Apr 14th, 2017

Congratullations to Sudeshna Chatterjee, Rehabilitation Sciences graduate student and Leighton Cluff awardee for her outstanding research paper on the topic of “Mobility function and recovery after stroke: insights from sympathetic […]

Dr. Natalie Ebner Named CLAS International Educator of 2016

Published: Nov 29th, 2016

  Dr. Natalie Ebner, Assistant Professor of Psychology, Adjunct Faculty at the Center for Cognitive Aging and Memory and the Department of Aging and Geriatric Research, and Affiliate Faculty at […]

Tenure and Promotion News: Dr. Shinichi Someya

Published: Oct 18th, 2016

Dr. Shihichi Someya has been promoted to the Associate Professor rank and was awarded tenure, to recognize his superior scientific and educational contributions.  Congratulations on this well deserved achievement!

UF Health Shands Hospital, Geriatrics, Among Nation’s Best

Published: Aug 4th, 2016

University of Florida Health Shands Hospital is now tied for top adult hospital in Florida, according to the 2016-2017 U.S. News & World Report adult specialty rankings of the nation’s […]

Duane B. Corbett: Manuscript Accepted for Publication in Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise

Published: Jul 29th, 2016

Evaluating Walking Intensity with Hip-Worn Accelerometers in Elders Coauthors: Vincenzo Valiani, Jeffrey Knaggs, Todd Manini Journal: Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise – the flagship journal of the American […]

Honorable Mentions at ILR/UF Aging Research Exposition

Published: May 18th, 2016

Duane B. Corbett, PhD—postdoctoral associate under the mentorship of Dr. Todd Manini—and Shannon Cochrane—university scholar under the mentorship of Dr. Thomas Buford—both received honorable mention for their oral presentations during […]

2016 Excellence Awards for Assistant Professors

Published: May 12th, 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Natalie Ebner for being the recipient of the 2016 UF Excellence Award for Assistant Professors. This university-wide award recognizes research quality and innovativeness.